mackinzie: (Default)
The birthday was okay. My coworkers forgot it was my birthday, but most of my family called me to tell me happy birthday. Steven got me an itunes giftcard (thanks!!!!) and my mom bought me dinner.

I miss spending every birthday out doing things with my mom. We're going to have a birthday party/housewarming party on Saturday though. It's going to be mighty busy.
mackinzie: (Badass)
My sister is the awesomest sister in the world. She took me out and bought me about $200 worth of stuff for my apartment. Tomorrow we're going to get bedding, candles, and pictures to hang on the walls. I think she's doing it so I'll feel better about living on my own. I'm slowly adjusting. I still miss my mom like crazy, though. But hopefully it'll all work out.

And now for the off topic negative )
Tags:
mackinzie: (Wordbubbles)
I'm 23 years old and I still live with my parents. I've lived with them all my life. In May I put down money on a new apartment but I haven't moved in yet (it's complicated). The apartment is all bills paid, $450 a month, plus internet and satellite included.

I make about $1,500 a month before taxes. Thing is, I need a new car. Mine has almost 200,000 miles and the air conditioner is broken as well as the gas gauge. The AC has been fixed 5 times (all for free by my sister's husband).

It's June in Texas and we've had at least 6 100+ degree days. I won't be able to handle driving around in that weather for long.

After making estimates on my budget, I've come to the conclusion that I'll have about $208 dollars left after paying on everything I need to pay for, and that's being generous.

So here is my dilemma:

Do I stay at home and get a new (used) car, or do I move out?

Here are the pros and cons for both:

Stay at Home
Pros:
--New car
--No rent
--Get to buy what I want/More money to save
--Quiet
--Washer/Dryer
--Dishwasher
--Don't have to cook a lot, mom/dad cook things

Cons:
--No independence
--Gas (I live 20 minutes from my job so it's a 40 minute commute daily)
--My dad is a jerk 60% of the time


Move Out
Pros:
--Independence
--Commute is cut by 10 minutes
--Everything in town is right there
--Get to be alone
--My sister is literally 5 minutes away
--Landlords have a basement (we live in tornado country)

Cons:
--No new car
--No laundry (have to go back to my parents house or use a facility)
--No dishwasher
--Loud (It's on a hospital and fire truck route)


My sister's husband suggests just keeping the old car. Paying to get it fix'll be less than a monthly car payment. If I don't move out then I never will.

What do you guys think?
Tags:
mackinzie: (Mac)
It seems to be that myself and a lot of my online friends have the same problem: finding a job.

The job market is kind of sucktastic right now, I guess. At least everyone else is getting interviews. That's really good. It means people are interested in them potentially.

I've not gotten any callbacks. I've applied over ten places but no one's really responded to me.

Every job site I can think of has my resume.

On Monday I plan on applying some more places...a receptionist job, some bank teller jobs (see if anywhere has an opening)...

I just have to keep trying.

I've got my life planned...I've got ideas of what it'll be like. I just need to get it started. You'd think you pay so much money to go to college and that it'll get your foot in the door...I guess depending on what you do it doesn't really work that way.

I went to the job fair forever ago and a couple of people seemed interested but I didn't take them up on their offer because I had a job back then. I don't know if it'll be too late now to respond back. I don't know if it'll require me to move somewhere else.

Once I get a job I want to stay home for a couple of months and save my money for a contingency fund, as well as for money to spend on necessities for my apartment.

I've looked before for when Kim and I were going to move in so I know how much things cost for a one bedroom too. I don't think we're going to move in together. It seems like lately she's angry with me.

I have money saved for when I was going to New York but it looks like that isn't going to happen so I'm going to put it toward my apartment...or to pay off my student loans when they come up due in May or June.

My dad says that the lack of employment always seems to happen around the coming election. I don't know. I've never paid attention to those sort of things. Now I do. I'm slowly waking up.

I think I'll do alright. I'm a planner, for the most part. I like to know what to expect. At first I know it'll be a rocky road but I think I'll get things on course. I'm a fast learner.
Tags:
mackinzie: (Pale)
Jes, 23 year old about to be soon graduated college student from Texas. I've done two of these before, at 21 and 22 years old. This Saturday in particular, with a day off, I decided to get my hair cut for the first time in about 7 years. My hair is mid way down my back and I got some bangs.

Oh yeah, there's also some other fan-tab-ulous stuff.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
HI-YAH!

Did you say you wanted to see my other two days? Here you go!
[1st]
[2nd]



44 Pics with one repeated )
Tags:

Profile

mackinzie: (Default)
Mackinzie

June 2013

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819 202122
23242526272829
30      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Page generated 20/7/17 12:56

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags